Skip to main content


   •  SHARE

The 2009 Grateful Nation Award Recipients Are...

JINSA's 2008 Grateful Nation Award honorees have been selected by their respective services and will honored by JINSA on November 2, 2009. The 27th Annual Henry M. "Scoop" Jackson Distinguished Service Award will also be presented that evening. The 2009 Grateful Nation Award recipients are:

  • Sergeant Gregory S. Ruske, United States Army Reserve

  • Corporal Richard S. Weinmaster, United States Marine Corps

  • Senior Chief (SEAL) John W. Marcum (posthumous), United States Navy

  • Lieutenant Commander Thomas L. Boyles, United States Coast Guard

  • Major Austin A. Moore, United States Air Force

  • Technical Sergeant Christopher B. Grove, USAF, United States Special Operations Command

The Grateful Nation Award is presented annually to six young heroes recognized for having distinguished themselves through superior conduct in the War on Terrorism. Honorees are chosen by their respective service and come from the enlisted, noncommissioned officer and junior officer ranks. Honorees represent each of the five branches of the U.S. military and the U.S. Special Operations Command.

Jewish Institute for National Security of America
1101 14th Street, NW, Suite 1030

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 667-3900 Office •