Skip to main content


   •  SHARE

And the 2008 Grateful Nation Award Recipients Are...

JINSA's 2008 Grateful Nation Award honorees have been selected by their respective services and will honored by JINSA on December 8, 2008 the same evening that Admiral Michael Mullen, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, is to receive JINSA's 26th Annual Henry M. "Scoop" Jackson Distinguished Service Award. The 2008 Grateful Nation Award recipients are:

  • Sergeant Monica L. Brown, United States Army

  • Staff Sergeant Phillip Anderson, United States Marine Corps

  • Senior Chief Petty Officer (SEAL) Douglas M. Day, United States Navy

  • Lieutenant Commander Eric S. Bernstein, United States Coast Guard

  • Master Sergeant Edward A. Tillman, United States Air Force

  • Staff Sergeant Zachary J. Rhyner, USAF, United States Special Operations Command

The Grateful Nation Award is presented annually to six young heroes recognized for having distinguished themselves through superior conduct in the War on Terrorism. Honorees are chosen by their respective service and come from the enlisted, noncommissioned officer and junior officer ranks. Honorees represent each of the five branches of the U.S. military and the U.S. Special Operations Command.

Jewish Institute for National Security of America
1101 14th Street, NW, Suite 1030

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 667-3900 Office •